DESStination DXB

The Doldrums

| 8 Comments

 

The Doldrums is one of the first places Milo visits in The Phantom Tollbooth. It’s a place inhabited by the Lethargarians, a group of  drab, colourless folk who don’t do anything, they have nothing to do and so they’re bored all the time.

Thankfully our Year 4 pupils were far from lethargic and drew upon their own experiences of Boredom to write some incredibly thoughtful poetry, as part of our Wonderland theme.

Here is a selection;

Tick Tock Clock

Tick Tock Tick Tock

Listen to the sound

of the clock

123.

No more noise

Behind the door

darker

darker

darker still.

Climbing up the

Sleeping hill.

Sliding down the

Other side.

Shh

Shh

Shh.

By Zac

 

Boredom
Boredom creeps up to you,
Like a net catches a fish.
Boredom is an old man ,
with a wrinkly, willowy forehead.
He’s a mournful man with grey, wiry hair.
By Isobel
 
Boredom
Boredom
makes your life
like a black hole.
Boredom
makes you groan
and moan
like a little kid.
Boredom
mutters and mumbles
forever
and ever.
Is boredom that bad?
Boredom
is a pitiful puddle.
Boredom
is miserable
like a black shadow in the dark.
Boredom
slumps
wherever she goes.
By Sienna

We really hope you enjoy reading and listening to our poetry?
Can you name some of the poetic devices we used?
Let us know your thoughts and ideas. What images does your mind conjure up when you hear the word Boredom? Just be careful not to get stuck in those murky Doldrums!

 

 

8 Comments

  1. hello mrs.harrow i want to comment on zac doldrums poem its sounds great welldone to him it is amazing

  2. Hi Mrs Harrow,
    I’m glad that my poems on the blog.
    I can’t wait to share it with my family
    and friends.
    From Ryiah

  3. Hi Mrs Harrow, It was a lot of fun listening to these wonderful poems! It looks like they worked really hard. I’m sure Year 4 are very proud of themselves!

    • Hi Bianca,
      Thank you for your lovely comment, they certainly have worked hard. It is great to be able to publish them online to reach a larger audience than our classroom. I’m looking forward to sharing more work from Year 6.

  4. That is the gratest work I have ever seen in year two
    I am waiting for more of exsiting work
    from mersharow

  5. I think those poems were amazing Mrs Harrow. I thought Zaks was the best one. Which one did you think was the best?

    • Hi Zayn,
      I love each and every one of the poems. I particularly like how each child approached it in their own way so that the poems are so very different.

  6. Zac’s one was amazing
    I can’t stop reading it
    I’m also happy my one was on the blog
    Pietro

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar